Call for Papers

http://www.a2c2.org/conferences/acc2007/

2007 American Control Conference July 11-13, 2007 New York, NY USA

The American Automatic Control Council (AACC) will hold its annual conference (ACC) under the auspice of IFAC Wednesday through Friday, July 11-13, 2007 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. The ACC will bring together people working in the fields of control, automation, and related areas from AIAA, AIChE, AIST, ASCE, IEEE, ASME, ISA and SCS. In addition to traditional topics, the 2007 ACC is encouraging submis-

sions in these conference themes: Control and Integration in Intelligent Building Systems (including control for security and egress, control for energy and HVAC, and building sensor and control networks); **Control** in **Transportation Systems** (including highway control, air traffic control, shipping control, and rail control), and Control Methods in Finance (including control methods in portfolio management, stochastic models of markets and pricing, and hedging of options).

The ACC will be held in Times Square, New York City's Theater District. Studios for CNN, Fox, ESPN and MTV are nearby. Within a short distance of the hotel are Central Park, Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall, Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Natural History, Museum of Modern Art and Guggenheim Museum. Off the southern tip of Manhattan are the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island.

Key Dates

Deadline for paper submissions:	September 15, 2006
Deadline for session proposals:	September 8, 2006
Notification of Acceptance/Rejection:	January 31, 2007
Final manuscript submission deadline:	March 15, 2007
Advanced registration deadline:	May 15, 2007

Contributed papers will be classified as regular or short. Regular papers are intended to be a complete description of finished work and a short paper is for an exposition of a novel idea or preliminary results.

Invited session proposals should present a unifying theme from a diversity of viewpoints and consist of a summary statement and six full

Special session proposals are invited for traditional special sessions and a new "demonstration session." Authors submitting papers in regular or invited sessions may simultaneously submit proposals to demonstrate their paper's results in a special interactive session.

Tutorial sessions should address state-of-the-art control theory and industrial applications.

Pre-conference workshop proposals addressing tutorial topics or current important research areas in control are invited.

Exhibits related to the theory and practice of control and control education are invited.

Student Best Paper Award will be given to a regular contributed papers whose first author is a student. To be considered for the award, the student's advisor must write a nomination letter (one-page limit) to clearly indicate the student's contribution and how the paper advances existing knowledge. The finalist must present the paper.

Paper Submission Policy

- All papers must be submitted through the conference submission web http://www.paperplaza.net
- All papers submitted, either for review or publication (after acceptance), must be formatted in the standard 2-column Proceedings format.
- For review, regular and invited papers are limited to 8 pages and short papers to 3 pages. Papers exceeding these limits will not be reviewed.
- For publication in the Proceedings, accepted regular and invited papers are limited to 6 pages and short papers to 2 pages. Papers exceeding these limits will be published only after payment of a page-overlength fee.
- At least one of the authors of the paper must register for the conference at the full member/non-member rate to upload the final manuscript.

Operating Committee

General Chair Robert Judd - Ohio University

Program Chair

Linda Bushnell - University of Washington Vice Chair, Special Sessions

Daniel Abramovitch - Agilent Labs Vice Chair, Invited Sessions

Richard Braatz - Univ. Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Vice Chair, Industry and Applications

Jing Sun - University of Michigan

Vice Chair, Special Tracks Lawrence Holloway - University of Kentucky

Local Arrangements Chair Mengchu Zhou - New Jersey Institute of Technology **Exhibits Chair**

Carolyn Beck - Univ. Illinois, Urbana-Champaign Finance Chair

Jordan Berg - Texas Tech University
Vice Chair, Student Affairs

Randy Beard - Brigham Young University

Publications Chair Mark Balas - University of Wyoming
Publicity Chair

Wenle Zhang - Ohio University

Workshop Chair

Karlene Hoo - Texas Tech University

Registration Chair Kenneth Muske - Villinova University

Theme Track Chairs

Bozenna Pasik-Duncan: Control Methods in Finance Raja Sengupta: Control in Transportation Systems Prashant G. Mehta and Harshad S Sane: Control and **Integration in Intelligent Building Systems**

Program Committee

Jeffrey Abell (Opel), Frank Allgöwer (Univ. Stuttgart), Martin Berg (Univ. Washington), Mike Borrello (Trex Enterprises Inc.), Richard Braatz (Univ. Illinois, Urbana-Champaign), Mireille Broucke (Univ. Toronto), Julie Buckland (Ford), Francesco Bullo (Univ. California, Santara) Buckland (Ford), Francesco Bullo (Univ. California, Santa Barbara), Kenneth Butts (Toyoto Technical Center USA), Fahmida Chowdhury (Univ. Louisiana), Santosh Devasia (Univ. Washington), Magnus Egerstedt (Georgia Tech), Zoran Gajic (Rutgers Univ.), Martha Gallivan (Georgia Tech), Zhiqiang Gao (Cleveland State Univ.), Dimitry Gorinevsky (Stanford Univ.), Michael Henson (Univ. Massachusetts), Joao Hespanha (Univ. California, Santa Barbara), Dimitris Hristu-Varsakelis (Univ. Masedonia), Terril Hurst (Hewlett-Packard Labs), Pam nia, Santa Barbara), Dimitris Hristu-Varsakelis (Univ. Macedonia), Terril Hurst (Hewlett-Packard Labs), Ram Iyer (Texas Tech Univ.), Ali Jadbabaie (Univ. Pennsylvania), Sanjay Lall (Stanford Univ.), Kent Lundberg (MIT Lincoln Laboratory), John Lygeros (Univ. Patras), Kristi Morgansen (Univ. Washington), Kenneth Muske (Villanova Univ.), Russell Rhinehart (Oklahoma State Univ.), Anna Maria Perdon (Univ. Polytecnica delle Marche), Michael Piovoso (Penn State Univ.), Anant Sahai (Univ. California, Berkeley), Tariq Samad (Honeywell), Dan Simon (Cleveland State Univ.), Masoud Soroush (Drexel Univ.), Alex Stankovic (Northeastern Univ.), Kazuo Tanaka (Univ. Electro-Communications, Tokyo), May-Win Thein (Univ. New Hampshire), Claire Tomlin May-Win Thein (Univ. New Hampshire), Claire Tomlin (Stanford Univ.), Hua Wang (Boston Univ.), Peter Willett (Univ. Connecticut), Wenle Zhang (Ohio Univ.).















